TAU hosts 3rd DPGAA Biennial Convention 

As means of recovery to foster innovation, the Tarlac Agricultural University, in partnership with the DOST-PCAARRD Graduate Alumni Association Inc. (DPGAA), hosted the 3rd Biennial Convention on November 3-4, 2021 via Zoom.

Cognizant of the research trends in the global milieu, TAU led the launching of the virtual convention by providing more innovative research-based technologies that may mitigate the impact of the crisis. This convention provided venues for the science and technology experts and academicians whose research interests dwell on fields of science and technology particularly on improving the production of crops, livestock, aquatic, and natural resources.

The convention exhibited the convergence of experts from fields on agriculture, aquatic and natural resources. Secretary Fortunato dela Peña of the Department of Science and Technology (DOST) graced the event as the keynote speaker. In his speech, he addressed the theme of the research forum “Embracing Change and Overcoming Challenges in Agriculture, Aquatic, and Natural Resources (AANR) amidst the COVID-19 pandemic.” He recognized that the agricultural, aquatic, and natural resources sector (AANR) was the lone driver of the Philippine economy in 2020 during the COVID19 outbreak.  However, he also pointed out the various disruptions in the supply chain and livelihood of fisherfolks and farmers in the country by stressing the lack of digital inclusion and lack of reliable infrastructures to further agricultural production.

Plenary speakers and presenters from the academic and private sectors had shed light on the issues, trends and innovative solutions that would surmount the concerns of the Filipino society amidst the pandemic. Among the plenary speakers were Dr. Reynaldo V. Ebora, Executive Director of DOST-PCAARRD, Mr. Norberto O. Chingcuanco, Vice President of Feedmix Specialist Inc., and Congressman Deogracias Victor B. Savellano from 1st District of Ilocos Sur.

After the presentations, the board of evaluators announced the following awardees: Dr. Ravelina R. Velasco of Central Luzon State University (CLSU) receives the PCAARRD Technology and Utilization Awardee while Dr. Edward A. Barlaan of University of Southern Mindanao (USM) receives the William D. Dar’s Research and Development Award. The DPGAA Administrative Award is awarded to DOST-FPRDI Director Dr. Romulo T. Aggangan. The Distinguished Service Award is conferred on the late President Dr. Honorio M. Soriano Jr. of Pampanga Agricultural State University (PSAU).

Meanwhile, the board of judges announced the best paper award per category: Mr. John Edward Felipe of Tarlac Agricultural University (TAU) in the agricultural sector, Mr. Yashier Upling Jumah of Mindanao State University (MSU)- Tawi-Tawi Campus in the aquatic sector, and Mr. Victor DG. Dizon, Jr. of the University of the Philippines-Los Baños (UPLB) in the natural resources sector.

To conclude the forum, Secretary William D. Dar of the Department of Agriculture delivered his keynote speech reminding that “the transformations taking place in Philippine agriculture today are results of the major breakthroughs of the research.” He urged the research experts to continue producing new technologies and exploring new approaches in agriculture to improve production, combat malnutrition, improve food utilization, and address climate change. (RCalpito, PDO)